Carten Controls was named Overall Waterford Business of the Year at the Waterford Business Awards today, Friday, November 17th by Mayor of Waterford City & County, Cllr Joe Conway, during a gala awards dinner at the Tower Hotel.

Carten Controls is a global leader in the design and manufacture of ultra-high-purity and high-performance valves and have been providing expert media-delivery solutions to firms in the tech, pharmaceutical and energy industries for more than 40 years. 

The Waterford Business Awards, which are organised by Waterford Chamber, Dungarvan & West Waterford Chamber and WLR, were hosted by Mary O’Neill and celebrated the successes and contributions of the shortlisted companies. 

Opening proceedings, Mayor of Waterford City & County, Cllr Joe Conway said: “From my ongoing engagements, I know firsthand what an amazing business community we have in Waterford, so today I would like to thank you all and simply say well done. While there will be only one winner in each category, to me you are all winners and I applaud your tenacity and commitment.  

“These are the 10th annual Waterford Business Awards and while a lot has changed in our city over the past decade one thing still remains constant – the strength of our business community.” 

Topping the categories were Murphy Larkin Timber Products for Transformational Change, Marketing Campaign of the Year went to Fitzgerald Power, Klearcom was named New Business of the Year, the Visit Waterford Award winners were West Waterford Festival of Food; Professional Beauty took home the Business of the Year (up to 20 employees) award, Cairde Credit Union was awarded Business of the Year (21 to 150 employees), Carten Controls was named Business of the Year (150+ employees), Molloy Butchers Ardkeen received the Excellence in ESG award, Faithlegg won the Taste of Waterford Award; Ardkeen Quality Food Store were named Best in Retail and  Waterford Credit Union received the Exceptional Customer Experience award. 

The Entrepreneur of the Year Award, sponsored by workLAB, was presented to Michael Kelly, founder of GIY, while the Judges Special Recognition Award, sponsored by Faithlegg, went to Tony Fitzgerald, Fitzgerald Menswear. 

The shortlisted businesses were nominated by the public and also by self-nomination in all categories. An independent judging panel, under the Chairmanship of Noel Kelly, and including Martin Freyne; Deirdre Houlihan, Faithlegg Hotel; Eamonn McEneaney; Lena Phelen, Truvium Vet; Jacqui Gaule, Waterford Local Enterprise Office, Des Whelan, WLR, Kathryn Kiely, SETU and Jackie Roche, Bausch & Lomb carried out the difficult task of selecting the final shortlist and category winners after a rigorous judging analysis of each application.  

Following the awards, Niall Harrington, Waterford Chamber President said, “On behalf of Waterford Chamber, I would like to congratulate Carten Controls on being announced as the Overall Winner of the Waterford Business Awards and to all category winners and finalists – thank you. Without your hard work and determination our business community would not be as vibrant as it is today and we wish you all continued success.” 

Meanwhile, Oren Byrne, President of Dungarvan & West Waterford Chamber said: “Well done to all of the winners and finalists. These awards showcase the very best in business and it is fantastic to be able to honour so many innovative and talented people across the city and county.” 

Speaking on behalf of WLR, Des Whelan, Managing Director, said: “WLR, as a local company with offices and studios in Waterford City and Dungarvan, was very pleased to support the Waterford Business Awards. It’s such a positive event for Waterford City and County with so many world class companies and innovative business people being honoured.  My congratulations to all the nominees and winners and thanks to all who entered and supported the 2023 awards.” 

Waterford City and County Council sponsored the Overall Waterford Business Award, Entrepreneur of the year was sponsored by workLAB, the Judges Special Recognition Award was sponsored by Faithlegg, while category sponsors include Permanent TSB, Waterford Local enterprise office, Fáilte Ireland, AIB bank, EY, Energia, PWC, RelateCare and Waterford Chamber Skillnet.