A host of Waterford’s top businesses have been shortlisted for the tenth annual Waterford Business Awards.  

Organisers Waterford Chamber have joined forces again with Dungarvan & West Waterford Chamber with support from Waterford City & County Council and WLR for the gala awards ceremony which will take place in the Tower Hotel on Friday, November 17th.  

Speaking about the awards, Waterford Chamber President Niall Harrington said, “Congratulations to all the businesses who have been shortlisted, what a fantastic representation of the Waterford business community across the city and county. As we celebrate 10 years of the Waterford Business Awards, it’s a good time to reflect on the amazing businesses who have won these awards down through the years and the value it has brought to their business. To be recognised by your peers for the hardworking and determination to be best in class deserves to be celebrated and we look forward to doing so on November 17th.”  

Commenting on the decision-making process Noel Kelly, Chairperson of the Judging Panel, said, “We were genuinely blown away by the volume and standard of entries this year. It is absolutely incredible what our business community is delivering in terms of innovation, technology, customer service and more. While only three can be shortlisted in each category, the lists could easily have been much longer and there was some very active debate and tough decisions along the way. Our independent panel of judges make a huge commitment to selecting the shortlist and ultimately the winners and I thank them for their time and dedication.”  

Managing Director of WLR, Des Whelan said the station is delighted to be involved to both champion and promote the Waterford Business Awards for the tenth consecutive year. “The Business Awards are a beacon of positivity and once again the list of nominee companies in every category is of a very high standard. There is no doubt the Waterford business community is vibrant and ambitious, which is evident from the list of entrants and shortlisted companies. We wish everybody the best of luck.”  

The shortlisted businesses were nominated by the public and through a self-nomination process. An independent judging panel, chaired by Noel Kelly and including Lena Murphy, Truvium Vet; Kathryn Kiely, SETU; Martin Freyne; Des Whelan, WLR; Deirdre Houlihan, Faithlegg; Jackie Roche, Bausch + Lomb and Jacqui Gaule, Waterford Local Enterprise Office, decided upon the final shortlist after a rigorous judging analysis of each application.

Three businesses have been shortlisted for each of the categories and the winners of those categories will then go head-to-head in the hope of claiming the Overall Waterford Business of the Year, sponsored by Waterford City & County Council. A Special Recognition Award, sponsored by Faithlegg and the Entrepreneur of the Year Award, sponsored by workLab, will also be presented to an individual chosen by the judging panel, and will only be revealed during the live event.